😎

I have been asked to teach drawing in a “School of Design”.

I am excited enough to do cartwheels. When I was a few years into my (first) career I discovered that there is something called “School of Design”. Till then all I knew of was School of Art/Fine Arts. My impression was that an artist’s life is full of struggle. I still think I was right in not going to an Art School. I couldn’t have lived without a steady income. As I always say- I’m skilled but I lack talent. I make up for the lack of talent by persistence (saying hard work would be an exaggeration πŸ˜‹). Anyways, so had I know there is something called a School of Design I would have joined it (weird, right? When I just confessed no creativity. But like everything else creativity is a learnable skill).

I have ZERO professional qualifications to be teaching a drawing class at University level and here I am ready to teach youngsters design 😎. God yes I’m excited! πŸ˜…

I had said yes when I was offered a job based on a video of me drawing that I had posted on twitter. It will be a guest faculty position. I need to teach 10-12 classes from 9 to noon. I haven’t asked if I will be paid any remuneration, but I really don’t care- me being asked to teach us reward enough. (Now that I think of it- the money if I get any will be used to purchase quality art supplies-I had sort of vowed to use only money made from art to buy professional art stuff-oh my god this is exciting!!! πŸ’ƒπŸ»)

Leave a Reply

