ICU

So yesterday one of helpers(I’m translating the literal word used in the language here) at the school (who basically helps with the toddlers and is the de facto boss of the cleaning ladies at the school) suffered from a stroke. One of the girls from the kindergarten came to me that something is happening to Dolly. When I rushed out of the office two other attendants were bring her out. Her body was semi paralysed and the face looked skewed. Her speech was slurry.

I called out at the receptionist to call ahead the doctor’s clinic. The doctor said that it sounds like a stroke and we should straight away rush to the hospital. So I drove like mad. The receptionist knew the way to the hospital so I asked her to come along. Mom also sent the librarian (who’s also a cousin 😂-nepotism anyone?)with me. The lady was unconscious by the time we reached the hospital. After the basic stuff the doctors said that we need to take her for CT Scan to the city as they didn’t the machine. So I arranged for an ambulance from the hospital itself. The receptionist went in the ambulance and I sent back the librarian-he had his car key-I would called him if any other help was required. The receptionist is resourceful and sort of my right hand, so I wanted her.

At the Scanning centre(?) we decided to take her to the city hospital itself. The emergency doctor after looking at the scan confirmed that one of her brain vessels had ruptured and sent me to the neurologist-surgeon. He said there was a minor bleeding and it should resolve itself in 4 to 5 weeks. The patient would be under observation for 48 hours and need another CT Scan in 72 hrs. By this time the receptionist had located the lady’s husband (he works a gardener amongst other things) and called him there. His neighbour had also reached separately (her son goes to our school). Now this poor guy is -what’s the politically correct term for it?- a bit simple. In any case I explained the situation as best as I could and after we had shifted her to the ward, handed over the command to the neighbour so that I could bring the receptionist back to the school. I asked the guy if he had some money, he had he said, I didn’t believe him but since I had paid for everything already and confirmed from the doctor that nothing else was needed we returned.

In the evening there was another scare that the patient was shifted to ICU and might need to be operated upon in the morning. So mom n dad went to see her. Only the doctor on night duty was there and he said the surgeon will come at 6 in the morning and then it will be decided. So we will go today again and find out.

Leave a comment